Banchory Academy Parent Council

Representing parents and carers

Our School

You are on the Parent Council website. Please note that any views expressed on this site are those of the Parent Council as distinct from Banchory Academy or Aberdeenshire Council.

Click here for the main school site.


While the Parent Council continues to lobby Aberdeenshire Council and the Scottish Government on behalf of all concerned parents, it is very helpful if individual parents also raise their concerns direct. Scroll down for useful contact details.

For the campaign to have most impact, it needs critical mass. If you are concerned, NOW is the time to send those emails, write those letters, lobby your representatives. Time is of the essence. 

Please harness your social networks to spread the word and raise awareness. For example, the Facebook page Curriculum for Excellence - Parents' Voice provides a platform for sharing information and views, bringing together parents from all over Scotland.

A parent from Aberdeen City has set up an Online Petition to ask Michael Russell at the Scottish Government to Direct LAs to allow schools to decide number of examinable subjects at S4. If this is a position that you share, please sign the petition. You can add optional comments. 

Please copy any useful correspondence or links to your year representative so that the PC can keep up to date with parents’ views and suggestions. The more backing we can demonstrate, the less chance of the PC’s representations being dismissed as merely those of a vocal minority clinging to outdated ideas.  

 Useful contact details:

Dennis Robertson MSP
Units 10-11 Craigearn Business Park
Morrison Way
AB51 0TH 


Michael Russell MSP
Cabinet Secretary for Education and Lifelong Learning
St Andrew's House
Regent Road

Ian Stirling
Curriculum for Excellence Officer
Aberdeenshire Council
Woodhill House
Westburn Road
AB16 5GB

Dr Alasdair Allan MSP
Minister for Learning, Science and Scotland's Languages
The Scottish Parliament
EH99 1SP

Maria Walker
Director of Education, Learning and Leisure
Aberdeenshire Council
Woodhill House
Westburn Road
AB16 5GB

Cllr Isobel Davidson
Chair, Education, Learning and Leisure Committee,
Aberdeenshire Council
Chapel Howe
AB41 8PF 

Andrew Griffiths
Head of Service, Education and Staff Development

Aberdeenshire Council
Woodhill House
Westburn Road
AB16 5GB 

Ron McKail
Vice Chair, Education, Learning and Leisure Committee
Aberdeenshire Council
17 Brimmond Drive

AB32 6SZ 

The Editor
The Press and Journal
Lang Stracht
AB15 6DF 





Powered by mod LCA